Authors Answer 69 & 70

Missed a week again, so double post today! Yet another family visit got in the way. I’ve also been feeling shit, but that’s no excuse because frankly, I’m still feeling shit. I hate having a cold I can’t seem to shift. At the moment I’m living on hot toddies and liquorice (or, when at work, coffee, since I’m not really allowed to slip some whisky into anything I drink at work).

Anyway, that’s all by the by – let’s have a look at this week’s questions!

AA 69: As a writer or blogger, what was the most unusual request or comment you’ve received?

Just as well this week is a double bill, because I have literally got nothing interesting to reply with. These days, the most unusual thing for me is to get a comment at all. I was rather hoping to get a few weirdos stalking me when I did my year of reading the Bible posts, but alas, I did not attract any religious nutjobs*.

Reading the replies by the other authors on Jay Dee’s blog, their audience seems to be as un-unusual as mine.

AA 70: If you could request any author to be a guest on Authors Answer, who would it be and why?

I’ve got three potential candidates for this. First of all, Robin Hobb, because I adore her Fitz and the Fool books, and on the one occasion I met her she was absolutely lovely.

Secondly, Scott Lynch, because anyone who can pour that much sarcasm into their books is automatically a massive hero of mine.

Thirdly, because there was no stipulation of plausibility, JRR Tolkien, because despite the fact that I (whisper it) do not think he was a very good writer, his influence on both myself and literature/the world in general is undeniably massive. Funnily enough the one thing I actually admire most about him is the fact that he was (apparently) a polyglot, and I’d love to find out how accurate that claim was. Case in point – my colleagues (being British and possibly genetically incapable of learning another language) always say things to me like ‘you speak a lot of languages’, while the reality is that I speak two languages fluently (Dutch and English), can hold a decent conversation in one more (German), can make myself understood in two or three beyond that (Italian, French and possibly Russian), and know a little bit about a lot of others (Norwegian, Spanish, Irish, Welsh, Greek, Turkish, Polish, Hungarian, Finnish, Czech, maybe Swedish). However, knowing a few words and a bit of grammar of a lot of languages does not a polyglot make. It’s all in the perception – to my colleagues the fact that I speak more than one language is in itself virtually inconceivable.

So those would be my three guests. See who others would pick in the original post.

*With which I do not mean to imply that all people following a religion are nutjobs – I was hoping to get nutjobs who happened to be of a religious persuasion. Just to make that clear.

4 thoughts on “Authors Answer 69 & 70

  1. Voirrey

    Both my husband and I* would agree with you about Tolkien; he had a real skill at world building, and real imagination for plot and invented history, but he was not a very good writer… No concept of how far you can see before the curvature of the world means the horizon stops you seeing any further, either 🙂
    * Sounds rather regal!

    Reply
    1. Erica Dakin Post author

      I think the thing that bugs me most about his writing is the inconsistency of it – when there’s hobbits around it’s all twee and child-like, and then you get to the council of Elrond and you just want to kill yourself before you die of boredom! But yes, in worldbuilding he was first class.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

