Authors Answer 68 – Authors research the strangest things

Turkish is doing my head in.

Okay, I know I am voluntarily learning Turkish, and I’m not going to give up, but jesus, it’ll be some years yet before I can hold a conversation in Turkish.

Does this have anything to do with research? Nope, but it has everything to do with the fact that it is now nearly half past nine, when usually I might start writing my Monday post around quarter past eight or so. And it’s all because of Turkish. Türkçe çok zor.

Anyway, over to this week’s question: What are some of the most unusual things you have researched for your writing?

Well, let me start by saying that I research very little. The beauty of Fantasy is that you can get away with just making up shit far more than in any other genre. Something can’t possibly work? Magic! Something looks weird? Fantasy plant/beast/insect! This fits well with my inherently lazy nature. This also means that when I do research something I either stop at Wikipedia or I just use my (fairly weak) google-fu to see what the Internet says.

With that caveat out of the way, I think my most sinister research was when I wanted to find out whether it would be possible for someone to get stabbed in the stomach, have the knife pulled out and then spend ten minutes or so walking to get somewhere without dying. The Internet deemed it plausible, so I rolled with that.

More fluffy research has been on horse colouring (what the hell is a palomino again, and when is a horse a bay or a sorrel?) and more recently on Saxon male and female names.

Far more sinister answers can be found in the original post on Jay Dee’s blog.

Leave a Reply

