Authors Answer 66 – The Urge to Quit Writing

Look at me! All posting on time and everything and not even having to double up! Let’s see how long it lasts…

This week’s question puzzles me a little bit, but that’s probably due to me being such an amateur writer. The question is: Have you ever wanted to quit writing?

The reason why it puzzles me is because I don’t know how you can see writing in a want/want not sense. You either write or you don’t, as far as I’m concerned, and wanting doesn’t really enter into it. I can certainly see things being the other way around – have you ever wanted to write when you couldn’t? – because that’s what writer’s block is all about. And although I wouldn’t quite say that I have writer’s block at the moment, I do wish I had more of an urge to get on with it again.

But wanting to quit? That’s maybe for professional authors who are struggling over their next book and who know that not finishing it means there is no bread on the table. Authors who have a deadline to meet, and who just haven’t got the inspiration to be able to do so. They might feel the urge to just jack it in and sod the consequences.

I doubt I will ever fall into that category – writing is a hobby to me, and it makes no difference whether I do it or not. I do not have hordes of fans clamouring for my next artistic output and sending me nasty e-mails when month after month I fail to do so.

When I want to write, I write. When I don’t, I don’t. It’s as simple as that.

See what other authors have to say on this matter in the original post on Jay Dee’s blog.

Leave a Reply

