Authors Answer 50 – Family Support

Another week, another Authors Answer. But before I get to that, I’m quite excited to announce that I’ve finally made a start on writing the origin story of my new hero, Ailric. He’s been lounging around in my head for a while now, but so far he’s been too lazy to come out. But on Sunday morning I was dozing in bed, and for whatever reason the opening sentence started to form, and I was quite happy with it. So it had to come out, and I’ve actually written about a full page since then! This is quite an achievement at the moment, because the muse has not been very active lately.

Anyway, on to this week’s question: How much support for your writing do you get from your family?

I suppose the honest answer is not a huge amount, but that’s not really something that bothers me. Aside from the husband, who I suppose counts as family (and who is very supportive), my direct family all live abroad, which doesn’t lend itself too well for cheerleading on the sidelines. My brother is aware I’ve written three books, because his eldest son has created all three covers for me. He is also aware that the books are quite smutty, but he’s not really remarked on it. I’ve certainly not (yet) been reprimanded for corrupting his boy, so I suppose it’s all good.

My sister actually owns all three of my books, but that’s because I’ve gifted them to her, and she has yet to read any of them. She keeps saying she will, but no luck so far. I do believe she thinks it’s quite cool that her little sister has written three books so far.

My parents are, I’m pretty sure, also aware that I’ve written books, but they’ve never really commented or asked much about them. Maybe they also know I write smut, and that’s why they’re not saying anything.

But as I said, it’s okay. I’m quite self-sufficient, and I don’t write to gain the adulation of my family members. I’m happy enough that I’ve received adulation from several people, which is more than I ever really expected.

See what other people’s families are like in the original post on Jay Dee’s blog.

Leave a Reply

