Authors Answer 48 – Writing and Publishing isn’t all fun

Haha, don’t I know it! Back in the day I had it in my head that I’d put out my book, and not too long after that I’d be a millionaire. Well, maybe not a millionaire, but I’d get some decent dough, right? If EL James can do it, surely I can too?

Ha! EL James cheated by insinuating herself into a Twihard community whose questionable tastes in books clearly did not prevent them from having altogether too much money to spend on said questionable books.

Oh, the question? Right. What’s your least favourite part of the writing and publishing process?

The fact that I’m not a multi-gazillionaire yet. Duh. Which is due to my second least favourite part, the promotion (and only due to that, honest guv). See also Authors Answer 43, which I’ve tellingly left mostly blank.

Look, I’m lazy and I have book-esteem issues (it’s like self-esteem, but for your books rather than you). I don’t really want to spend a lot of time on shouting at people to please go read my books, especially when I feel that in hindsight the first one especially isn’t really all that brilliant.

This is inherently silly – I’ve read some self-published books which were absolute drivel, full of spelling mistakes and truly awful writing (anyone remember the ‘manly thigh action’?), yet which appear to sell fairly well, and I know that compared to that my books really are pretty decent. But that still doesn’t make me want to sit down and go through a marketing exercise.

Sitting down and writing is (mostly) fun. Even the rewriting part is fun – you get to look at everything and try to work it so that everything just sounds that little bit better, or you get to dig out that massive bit that never felt right/totally didn’t work and improve it. Even getting it ready for publishing I find quite enjoyable. But marketing? Nah.

See what other people hate in the original post on Jay Dee’s blog.

 

Leave a Reply

