Authors Answer 40 – Difficult Scenes

A pretty straightforward, but quite difficult question this week: What kind of scenes do you find most difficult to write?

The thing is, I’m not sure I have an answer to this. What I find difficult to write depends on how inspired I am (or not), not what it is that I’m working on. I can’t say that I have trouble with dialogue or fights or sex or travel descriptions in particular – sometimes they write themselves and sometimes it takes blood, sweat and tears to get them out on paper.

What I tend to have difficulty with are beginnings and especially endings. Every friggin’ week I have real difficulty figuring out the first sentence for these blog posts, and I always take ages to come up with just the right sentence to end a book or short story. I’m also shit at titles, but that’s something I’ve lamented about before.

I can’t really say much more about this topic; I just don’t struggle with specific scenes. If I struggle, I struggle with a book in general.

See what others have trouble with in the original post on Jay Dee’s blog.

Leave a Reply

