Authors Answer 33 – The Writing Process

I get the feeling that this week will be pretty short. Actually, the question even asks you to be: Can you briefly describe your writing process?

Right, at its briefest, my writing process is this: I sit down. I type words.

You probably want something with a little more substance than that, but in essence, that really is it.

I am an evening writer. Not in the least because I’m not a morning person, but I literally have half an hour between getting up and going to work, and all of that is spent on feeding the cats, having a cup of tea and getting washed and dressed. If I wanted any more time in the morning I’d have to get up at 5.30, and that is never going to happen.

So, in the evening I get all the other stuff out of the way first. I come home, work on my languages (I’m on 9 at the moment, 3 per day over 3 days, repeat ad infinitum) and cook dinner. After that I catch up on social media stuff, mainly Facebook. I’ll probably piss away some time with some computer games. Around 9pm I’ll have a think about doing some writing, so I’ll open whatever I’m working on and write. This may involve staring blankly at the screen for any length of time while thinking of the right word or sentence, or getting distracted by stuff going on online. At around 11pm I’ll call it a day and go to bed.

This is my current process. I’ve had times when inspiration has been killing me, and at those times it was more like come home, write. Cook dinner, write. Write, write, write. Bitch at the husband for disturbing me while I’m trying to write. Write some more, realise that I do actually need some sleep sometime, stop writing but think about stuff while in bed. And at work. Possibly secretly write at work, if I think I can get away with it.

That’s about it, really. It’s not rocket science…

Want to see what other writers do? Check out their answers here.

Leave a Reply

