Authors Answer 16 – Writer’s Resources

Ooh, this will be a bad one. What are your favourite online resources/websites for writers?

The truthful answer is that outside of Wikipedia for research purposes (yes, I’m very lazy) I don’t really have any. For a while I spent a lot of time on Goodreads, trawling the boards of a few specific groups, and I spent a fair amount of time on the message boards for Fantasy Faction, but that’s long since died a quiet death.

The basic fact of the matter is that I’m an arrogant know-it-all with absolutely zero patience. I therefore spend no time at all on writer group websites where random strangers can critique my work, because I don’t trust random strangers to know anything about what I’m trying to achieve. I hate people at the best of times – why would I give them that much power over me? I trust my friend and editor Hillary to pick my stuff apart, but that’s a status I’ve granted grudgingly even to her, and with a lot of (generally private) grumbling on my part.

Is that a bad attitude to have as a writer? Probably. Am I inclined to change it? Not a chance. Arrogant and stubborn, remember? The few times I’ve given my stuff to a random person to tell me all the things they thought were wrong with it, I ended up getting so thoroughly annoyed that it took away any joy I had in putting words to paper. Maybe that  means my books aren’t as good as they could be, but to be frank, no one’s books are perfect. I like what I have and I like what I do, and that’s good enough for me, even if that subsequently means I’ll never become a millionaire bestselling author.

Original post can be found here.

Leave a Reply

