Authors Answer 15 – The Influence of Media

Aieee, what on earth am I supposed to answer to this week’s question? I’ll modify it to apply to my solo blogging of this series, but the question is: You write prose fiction in an era that has an astounding variety of storytelling media. Has your writing been significally influenced by any works of newer media?

The first problem lies in the definition of ‘newer media’. Does that include television, which has been around for longer than I’ve been alive? Or are we purely talking things like videogames and the internet?

The second problem lies in the fact that this question assumes I know what has influenced me. The truth is that while I can pinpoint certain influences, there is no way I can identify them all. I only clearcolrecently realised that Shani’s waist-long braid is pure Clearbrook from Elfquest.* I can probably trace back my love of dark-haired, dark-eyed men to Michael Praed in Robin of Sherwood. My ever-present attempts to insert a little bit of humour into my books here and there are probably rooted in my love for Terry Pratchett. The first-person PoV in my trilogy is entirely down to Robin Hobb.

* In fact, my entire half-elven race can be traced back to the Wolfriders in Elfquest – not as ethereally, elongatedly beautiful as the Gliders, but basically prettier versions of regular humans.

I suppose what I can take from that is that none of those influences come from ‘newer’ media, since I doubt even comics can count as new media. It is very well possible that I have taken some things away from my many, many hours of playing both Everquest and later World of Warcraft, but if this is the case then I have not discovered them yet.

Ultimately I think that it is impossible for a writer to get emotionally involved with anything, be that books, games, tv-series or anything else, and not take something away from that. The beauty is that all of that melts together into one big thing that you can then call your own.

Original post can be found here.

Leave a Reply

