Authors Answer 7 – Christmas Gifts

I guess it’s just as well that I’ve started doing this pretty much a year after Jay Dee started it, or I’d be blogging about Christmas gifts in February or something. Not that it makes it easier to answer this question, because I can’t even think of what Christmas presents I want myself, let alone a generic ‘writer’.

For the record, the question is: What would be the perfect gift for a writer?

Hmm, now that I look at it, the question itself doesn’t specify Christmas, it’s just the title that does. This isn’t my slip-up, btw, the original post specifies Christmas in the title too, which is to be expected at this time of the year! But I do like that the question doesn’t specify.

Anyway, I digress, as usual. My problem with this question is that it’s too generic. There isn’t really such a thing as a generic writer – everyone is unique in their tastes, working methods, discipline, genre… I could go on. So for a writer of cowboy romances, a full illustrated tome on the cowboy life would probably be a gift from the gods. Other writers might be over the moon with a new writing desk and computer, complete with that awesome writing software all their author friends rave about. Yet another writer might like state-of-the-art soundproof headphones to drown out the noises of the household.

But actually, there is one thing I’d imagine most writers would be happy with, because most writers I know are also voracious readers: either a book or books you know they’ll like, or a gift voucher for a bookshop or Amazon or something. Can’t go wrong with that.

Well, you certainly can’t with me, anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

