Bible Project Part 21 – Luke 21 to John 21

Hi, I’m back after my absolutely gorgeous holiday in northern Italy. Would happily go back there tomorrow if I could, but unfortunately I’m still not a millionaire and will therefore still be required to work for my money. Boo.

As I’d hoped, I finished the last of the four Gospels before I went on holiday, I just never got round to posting about it.

Truth said, exactly because all the Gospels are so similar, I have actually got very little to write about this week. I finished off Luke and read through all of John (Johannes in Dutch), and it was just more of the same. I’ve just got a few notes:

Luke 22 states that the satan went into Judas and caused his betrayal. Once again it’s presented as one of these preordained things – someone had to betray Jesus, and Judas was just the unlucky mug who drew the short straw. I’ve certainly not found any motivation in any of the four gospels that explains why Judas betrayed Jesus. There’s no ‘and he becameth jealous of the Christ, coveting His long shiny tresses and comely physique, and lo, he plotteth His demise’. Or something.

John is the only Gospel which mentions the wedding at Kana where Jesus turned water into wine (John 2). Not sure whether the other Gospels didn’t find it important enough or something.

John 6 – My notes say that it seems like Jesus is preaching cannibalism. As this was over three weeks ago I had to look up what on earth I meant with that, and the specifics appear to be John 6:51 which says ‘I am the living bread, which has descended from heaven. If someone eats from this bread, he shall live forever, and the bread which I shall give is my flesh, for the life of the world.’ Also verse 53/54: ‘I tell you, unless you eat from the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you will have no life in yourself. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life and I will resurrect him at the youngest day. For my flesh is true food and my blood is true drink.’

John 19 mention the crown of thorns given to Jesus in the lead up to the crucifixion, which I don’t recall reading in the other Gospels. It also says that he carried his own cross, rather than some poor mug being dragged out of the bystanders to carry it. It is also this Gospel which mentions his garment without seams and the spear stabbed into his side to check whether he’s dead yet.

About the garment without seams, this was always mentioned a lot at my school – the men guarding the crucifixes always got the spoils of the condemned, and they were originally going to tear Jesus’ garment into four, until they discovered it was very well-made, without a single seam, so instead they gambled for it. So if you ever see any of those morbid crucifixion paintings in the Sistine Chapel or something, and there’s a bunch of dudes below it rolling dice – that’s why. It’s not a Biblical proto-D&D.

And that’s it. I suppose that was a nice way to ease me back into the swing of things! Next week we’re on to the Acts of the Apostles.

 

Leave a Reply

