First draft done!

Well, it’s taken a lot longer than I would have liked, but yesterday at about quarter to eleven (pm) I finally finished the first draft of my third novel, The Coup. As it stands I have 18 chapters (and a prologue) and it’s around 114k words.

Next step is to do a full readthrough and take notes along the way on what I need to change. Some of it is stuff I thought of later which needs adding in at the early stages, some of it will be to incorporate the initial feedback from my alpha-reader and editor Hillary. Once that’s done I’ll begin the full rewrite.

So I’m by no means anywhere near being done, but at least I now have the full story out there. Considering that when I started I had little more than a start, an ending and a couple of scenes along the way, I’m now in a much happier place. Rewriting can be a bitch of a job, but it’ll still be easier than trying to think up the story from scratch.

And for those of you who missed it, here is a sneak (unedited) preview of the book which I posted a while ago.

One thought on “First draft done!

Leave a Reply

