The unanswerable question

I made it! This is the very last entry in my 26-Week Book Challenge, even if this is an afterlude. Don’t tell me that’s not a word; it is now. Anyway, I posted 37 entries in total: 26 actual entries and 11 interludes on questions I could not (or would not) answer. Today’s is the last of those, and it’s the question which, to me, is the silliest of them all: your favourite book of all time.

I simply cannot imagine that anyone who reads more than ten books a year could possibly have just one book they love above all others. Even if I could think of just one book, I’m sure it’d change frequently, just as it does with any music I listen to.

I could give a list of my favourite books, sure. In fact, that’s pretty much what I’ve been doing over the past year and a bit. I adore Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard series, all of Robin Hobb’s books about Fitzchivalry Farseer. I’ve recently rediscovered just how much I love Harry Potter. I’ve read Jack Vance’s Planet of Adventure at least ten times, and Melanie Rawn’s sunrunner books probably about as much as well. I love the Daughter/Servant/Mistress of the Empire trilogy by Raymond Feist and Janny Wurts (much more than I liked the Magician books by just Feist)… And so on and so forth.

Oh, and dare I say it? I love my own books. They have flaws, certainly, but there are parts in both of them that I’m damn proud of.

There’s probably not much more I can say about this subject. No one will ever pin me down on just one book, it simply isn’t possible.

Posts might become more infrequent from now on, as I don’t really have much to write about anymore. Thank you for your attention over the months, all comments have been appreciated.

 

One thought on “The unanswerable question

Leave a Reply

