Review: Darcy’s Diary – Amanda Grange

  • Title: Darcy’s Diary
  • Author: Amanda Grange
  • Genre: Historical (fan) fiction
  • Why: I really like Pride and Prejudice
  • Rating: 4 Stars

Description: Mr. Darcy’s Diary presents the story of the unlikely courtship of Elizabeth Bennett and Fitzwilliam Darcy from Darcy’s point of view — sharing his innermost thoughts and feelings. This graceful imagining and sequel to Pride and Prejudice explains Darcy’s moodiness and the difficulties of his reluctant relationship as he struggles to avoid falling in love with Miss Bennett. Though seemingly stiff and stubborn at times, Darcy’s words prove him also to be quite devoted and endearing — qualities that eventually win over Miss Bennett’s heart. This continuation of a classic romantic novel is charming and elegant, much like Darcy himself.

Review: I think I should maybe stop rating books immediately after I’ve read them, because I seem to constantly overvalue them. I finished this book a month ago and obviously liked it, but I can’t quite figure out why I gave it four stars.

Ultimately there’s not much to say about this book. You’ll only read it if you’ve read (and liked) Pride and Prejudice, and are curious to see what might have been going on in the head of Mr Darcy. It’s one of these overindulgences – a book you’ve already read, but from a completely different point of view. As such you can question its validity, and you can certainly be cynical about the reasons the author had for writing it – in essence this is nothing but fan fiction, allowed because Jane Austen has been dead for long enough that copyright no longer applies.

So, I did like it. Pride and Prejudice is very high on my list of books I like, and I personally have no problem with overindulgence. Darcy’s voice seemed appropriate, with the right amount of stiffness and concern for his sister to make it a plausible diary, but in the end there really isn’t anything new to find in this book. There are no shattering insights into Darcy’s character, no shocking revelations, not even a single dirty thought in Lizzy Bennet’s direction.

Read this only if you adored Pride and Prejudice and really can’t get enough of it. I won’t change my rating, but in the end it probably deserves no more than three stars.

 

Leave a Reply

