At a loss for words

I have reached week 31 in my 26-Week Book Challenge, and this week I rather find myself at a loss for words. Not because this is an interlude where I can’t answer a question, but because I have picked a book for this particular challenge and I just don’t have much to say about it.

This week’s challenge is my most thought-provoking book, and I have picked Ken Kesey’s One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

Let me start by saying that I read this book a long, long time ago. Probably more than twenty years. I may even have read it as part of my English reading list in secondary school, and if it was then it will have been one of the few books I actually chose because I wanted to read it.

And I do remember it as a very thought-provoking book. I think I probably saw the film first, then decided I wanted to read the book, and I remember both film and book being very, very good. The whole notion of a sane man pretending to be mad to escape prison, only to find out that the ‘insane’ are probably saner than you think, and that the people who are supposed to look after them treat them as less than human, is disturbing, to say the least. I remember Nurse Ratched as a very, very creepy, scary character.

But is there anything else I can say about it? Not really. It’s just too long ago since I read it, and while I thought it was a very good book, I doubt I’ll ever read it again. It’s very similar to Schindler’s List in that regard – fantastic film, but God was it hard to watch, and I was crying rivers during the sequence with the little girl in the red dress. Some things are just too hard to subject yourself to repeatedly, and I think I established before that I’m more about the fluff.

So, a short entry this week, but I might make up for it later this week by giving a tiny sneak preview of my upcoming third book as a tie in to the Tough Traveling tour as being undertaken by the Fantasy Review Barn at the moment. Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

