Delayed pleasure?

Another Monday, another post in my 26-Week Book Challenge. I have no idea how long this one will be, since I’m still a little distracted with what I’ve been doing this past weekend, which is this:

Not to that standard, but the fantastic Mugenkyo run a taiko dojo and every now and then they do a workshop where you are taught the basics of how to play taiko, which is the most brilliant fun I’ve had in a long time. I’ve got the bug.

Anyway, this week is another interlude, where I will tell you why I will not give you a book I’ve wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t, which from my point of view is another one of those really silly questions people felt the need to put in this meme.

Let’s break it down very simply. At its most basic level, books are divided into two groups: books I’ve read and books I haven’t read. The first group can then be divided into books I want to read again and books I don’t want to read again. The latter group will be much smaller than the former, because if I enjoy a book enough to finish it, I’ve usually enjoyed it enough to want to read it again. Not always though.

For the books I haven’t read, the same division applies: there are books I want to read and books I don’t want to read. Technically you could add a third category, which is books I don’t know about and therefore haven’t formed an opinion of whether I want to read them or not, but that’s making things too complicated.

To get to the heart of the matter, books I want to read will be on my to-read list. Not the one on Goodreads, I don’t actually use that one, even though there are some books on there. I have a number of paper books on my bookshelves which I have every intention to read, and I have a number of e-books on my Kindle which I also have every intention to read. What I do not have, however, is a book which I’ve been dying to read for ages but haven’t yet. Do you know why? Because if I really was dying to read it, I would have read it.

That’s the ultimate flaw in this question: if you really, really want to read a book, why wait? Maybe because the library only has two copies and you’re on the waiting list behind 50 other people and you can’t afford to buy it? I suppose that’s possible, but I personally cannot imagine being so poor that you can’t afford a book you really want to read. That’s not to say that there aren’t people who are that poor, but I’d imagine that they have more important things to worry about than what book to read next.

I have no structure in how I choose what book to read next. I haven’t got a stack of books on my coffee table in a particular order and I have to read the top one next or else. My usual procedure is I finish a book, I look at what I have available, then I pick the next one. If I’ve just finished a romance I might pick some epic fantasy next, but that’s not a given. It’s not even a given that I’ll read the next one in the series if that’s what I’m reading – I had to give George RR Martin a break because I was getting so tired of all my favourite characters dying, and it took three or four months before I gathered up enough courage to pick the series back up again.

So that’s it. Another, in my opinion, silly question that I just don’t have an answer to. Now excuse me while I have a look at how much it’s going to cost me to buy a nagado…

 

Leave a Reply

