Review: The Love Trainer – Julia Llewellyn

  • Title: The Love Trainer
  • Author: Julia Llewellyn
  • Genre: Chick Lit
  • Why: Found it at work.
  • Rating: 1 Star

Description: Katie Wallace had her heart broken once – never again. So she decides to becomes a Love Trainer, a unique service provider who can answer the following questions:

1 Should I call him even though he hasn’t called me?

2 When he turns up in the middle of the night drunk and wanting a shag, should I say yes?

3 Why is it so hard when I’m not even sure he’s the man I want to marry?

Is Katie right? Can you train men to be better boyfriends? Or is she playing the game of love with the wrong set of rules – a game which can only lead to her and those she helps getting hurt …?

Review: The second book from my pile of books I found at work, and I’m beginning to understand why people didn’t keep them. What I don’t really understand is why I finished this book, because although it was well-written, I hated almost everyone in it from start to finish.

The book is set in London, and our heroine is Katie Wallace. She’s in search of a job and wrangles a recommendation with Rebecca, who is some sort of media mogul, but instead of getting a secretarial job like she expected, she becomes Rebecca’s cleaner. Don’t even ask.

And here we get to the crux of why I hated this book. Through Rebecca, Katie gets to know a good number of people, but all the women are whiny bitches who stay with horrible men because they’re all desperate to have a baby before they’re too old, except for the one woman who has a lovely guy but doesn’t appreciate him and keeps having flings with other men. At the same time, all the men are arseholes who think it’s acceptable to make appointments then don’t keep them, or to be overbearing and controlling.

Katie, who has her life all sorted out with a perfect boyfriend who she doesn’t get too serious with, because friends are more important than lovers, watches all this and decides that all these women need advice. And the advice in question is that all men are dogs, and should be treated as such.

I’m sure it’s all meant humorously, but all it did was annoy me, because there just wasn’t a single person in this book I liked or sympathised with. The whole idea that women are so desperate for children that they’ll put up with anything is insulting, and it’s just as insulting to suggest that men need to be treated like dogs before they’re worth your while.

Of course this is one of those books where everything ends up wonderful in the end, people mend their ways, everyone gets what they want/need/deserve and it’s all hunky dory, but by that point it was far too late for me.

Unless you’re a great lover of chick-lit, avoid like the plague.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Love Trainer – Julia Llewellyn

  1. Green Embers

    I like the title of the book. Not a reader of chick of lit so I would avoid it anyway. I will definitely avoid after what you wrote. Thanks for the review!

    Reply
    1. Erica Dakin Post author

      Glad to be of service! I don’t really like chick lit either, so I’m not sure why I keep trying to read it. Maybe because most of it tricks me into thinking it’s romance…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

