Another WiP update

Seeing as there are some people who have asked me recently, I figured I’d give another update on The Coup, my current Work in Progress and part three in the Theft and Sorcery trilogy.

Progress is still slower than I’d like it to be, but that’s largely my own fault. I keep procrastinating, so I rarely get more than 1000 words on the page in one day. More often it’s anywhere between 500 and 1000, and there are (too many) days when I don’t write anything at all.

That said, I have now got twelve chapters in my first draft, for a total word count of around the 77k mark. I still cannot say how many chapters the book will eventually end up with, but my best stick-a-wet-finger-in-the-air guess is around eighteen or nineteen. I could be completely wrong, because I’ve got to the point in my outline which says ‘arrival in Tizar, regroup’, and after that my outline just says MORE STUFF, WAH!

As you can see, my outlines are in themselves minor works of literary genius.

For all that the progress is slow, I’m pretty pleased with what I’ve got so far, and my alpha reader/editor also seems pretty happy. I value her opinion, so I’m optimistic that the final result will be worth reading. I keep wanting to post a teaser snippet, but there’s still a really big thing that I’m trying to keep a secret, so I kinda can’t.

Oh, and the most important part: there has been sex, wohoo! My main characters have now well and truly got laid, so that’s the main part of my mission accomplished. Now I just have to achieve the happily ever after…

 

Leave a Reply

