Update on the WiP

So, since this will be my last proper post for the year (I’ve got one more review to link to, but that’s not a proper post) I figured I’d give an update on my Work in Progress. My hope was that I would have the first draft of book three done by the end of the year, but that’s absolutely not going to happen.

It’s not a project lost though. I have seven chapters finished and hope to have chapter eight done before I break up for Christmas. It is very much a first draft right now and will probably get some extensive rewriting, but that’s a worry for later.

The reason why I’m not as far into this book as I was hoping to be is a mixture of procrastination and a lack of inspiration. The Ritual was fairly easy to write, even if it ended up changing quite a bit between draft one and two, and The Conspiracy came out almost faster than I could type it up. This third book isn’t proving quite so easy. I have a very generic idea of what will happen in the book, but the details in between aren’t coming as quickly as I’ve been used to with book one and two. The characters aren’t jumping out at me as much as Kai and Sita did.

My very close ‘relationship’ with Kai and Sita is part of the problem as well, I think. It was very hard to let go of them, but I had to in order to get into the minds of the protagonists of book three, and even when I started writing it it wasn’t until about chapter three that they started to take on a life of their own.

They are doing that now though. I have already had one conversation end up somewhere where I really hadn’t intended for it to go, but to me that’s a good sign. It means that the characters are taking on a proper personality, and I can trust them to do things that are in character for them. It is one of the things I always rely on very much when writing – I may have spewed out two or three thousand words, but if they niggle at me and feel wrong it usually means that I’m trying to make my characters do something that doesn’t fit their personality, so I’ll just as easily discard those bits again.

So, at this point I think I’m about halfway through the book, maybe a little further, which means that it might end up somewhere between 100k and 125k words. The Ritual is 125k-ish and The Conspiracy is 213k, so it’ll be respectable, but not as much of a doorstop as The Conspiracy is.

Whether my fans (yes, I do have one or two) will like it I honestly don’t know at this point. I’m taking a few risks with this book, I think, and I’ll have to rely on my beta readers to tell me whether it works. If they say it doesn’t then… I don’t actually know what I’ll do. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it, I suppose.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at. At this point I have absolutely no idea when I’ll finish it, but I’ve stopped stressing about it. I’m (unfortunately) not making a living with my writing, so there is no rush but what I impose upon myself, and I know myself well enough that setting an arbitrary deadline just isn’t going to work. The book will come out in its own time, and if I try to rush it it will only suffer.

I wish everyone a wonderful Christmas (or other festivity of your choice) and a very Happy New Year. May you read many great books in 2014, and if one of mine is among that I shall not complain!

2 thoughts on “Update on the WiP

  1. tktrian

    Sounds exciting! Hopefully you’ll get a flurry of inspiration now in the beginning of 2014 🙂 Sometimes it takes a while to get into the story and characters, sometimes they seem to write themselves…

    Reply
    1. Erica Dakin Post author

      I’m definitely getting into it, although Hillary is distracting me with an exciting new project to get my teeth into once this trilogy is finished. Time to crack my knuckles and dig in!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

