Sivesh

There will be no usual scheduled post today. About two hours ago we had one of our cats put to sleep. He had a tumour on his chin; a particularly aggressive type of cancer, and he was getting to the point where he was no longer happy.

It’s always so bloody hard to judge these kind of things, because sometimes he seemed okay and then other times he didn’t, but thankfully the vet agreed that we picked the right time, insofar as there is ever a right time.

He was one of the sweetest cats I have ever had (and I’ve had a few in my life so far), and I’m going to miss him more than I can express. I still remember the day when we went to see him and his littermates, and I fell in love with his little black goatee.

Sivesh3

He was fourteen in August. A decent age for a cat, but I’d have liked to get another five years or so out of him. I’m sure his brother is going to miss him as well – he actually sat down on his grave when we finished, like he knew Sivesh was down there.

I’m sure you’ll understand that I’m in no state to write anything coherent about some book right now. Maybe tomorrow, because I have to keep my mind busy somehow, but tonight… I just can’t do it.

Goodbye Sivesh.

SiviRack4

6 thoughts on “Sivesh

  1. tktrian

    That is so sad, so sorry to hear this 😦 Such a sweet-looking cat. A couple of years ago, in the summer, we had to put asleep our family cat, Rocky, and a dear horse friend, Gude; the pain of losing a companion/companions and the void they leave behind… 😦
    Hugs to you!

    Reply
  2. tktrian

    The previous comment was from Katri, this one is from Toni, the other half of TKTrian:
    I’m so sorry to hear about Sivesh. As K mentioned, we lost two dear friends a couple of years back, yet the void still remains (and will forever, is my guess). When you lose a friend, human or animal, doesn’t matter, it’s like they take a part of your heart with them. Then again, I do believe that someday, somehow, we will be reunited with our loved ones when it’s our time to take the plunge.
    Sivesh looks like a great guy. R.I.P. The good ones always go first.
    Hang tough,
    Toni

    Reply
  3. Tali Spencer

    I’m so very sorry to hear about your beloved friend. They lay claim to a special place in your heart. And can I say I love how you named them? Sivesh and Azrael, perfect. Tanith Lee would grin. I know I did. Hope you will always smile when you think of him.

    Reply
    1. Erica Dakin Post author

      Thank you very much. Right now it’s still a very watery, melancholy kind of smile, but yes, I’ll always have fond memories of him.
      His name I had ready and waiting for about seven years before I got him, I think. Ever since I read about Sivesh in the Demon Prince books! If you dig down somewhere in my June posts you’ll also find a picture of my other two cats, Loki and Sif.
      Thank you again, I really appreciate the sympathy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

