A to Z Bookish Survey

Jumping on the bandwagon too!

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Without actually getting up to count (because I’m lazy) I’m going to have an educated guess and say Terry Pratchett, because damn, that man is prolific.

Best Sequel Ever:

That probably has to be Red Seas under Red Skies by Scott Lynch at this point in time, but things like that change constantly, really.

Currently Reading:

Grimspace by Ann Aguirre. By sheer luck I have actually only got one book on the go right now, because usually it’s at least two.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Eh, I don’t need to drink while I read. Besides, I usually read in bed, lying on my stomach, which isn’t an easy position to drink in.

E-reader or physical book?

Either. Both. They complement each other.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Um, any dark, handsome young man in any book ever? Fitzchivalry Farseer would probably be top of the list though. (I’m assuming here the question means any character you’d have wanted to date, not one you actually might have stood a chance with.)

Glad You Gave this Book a Chance:

Thick as Thieves by Tali Spencer. I thought it would be ridiculous, but it actually was a lot of fun.

Hidden Gem Book:

I’m not much for picking obscure tomes to read, but let’s pick The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan. Not because she’s not popular, because she is, but because it was absolutely awesome, which I wasn’t expecting.

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:

Learning to read. No, seriously, I’ve done little else since I accomplished that. Don’t remember any other epiphanies.

Just Finished:

Red Seas under Red Skies by Scott Lynch. Damn, that man is good. I’m in a major book-depression right now because I have no more Locke Lamora to read.

Kind of Books You Won’t Read:

Horror, because I’m a total wuss. I wouldn’t get a wink of sleep anymore, ever.

Longest Book I’ve Read:

I really, really can’t be arsed to get up and check. Probably some Wheel of Time volume, or maybe The Lord of the Rings. I don’t care anyway, I like big, fat books. They won’t stop so quickly.

Major Book Hangover Because Of:

Red Seas under Red Skies. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it has such a melancholy ending that I just want to kick something.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Six that actually have books in them, and two more in reserve for when things get desperate.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Um, you’d be better off asking me for one I haven’t read multiple times. I’ve read most of my books multiple times. My motto has always been ‘if a book is worth reading once, it’s worth reading again and again’.

Preferred Place to Read:

Well, whether it’s preferred is debatable, but I do most of my reading on the bus and in bed. On the bus because it’s infinitely better than staring out the window for fifty minutes day in day out (twice a day) and in bed because otherwise I won’t go to sleep. Any reading I do outside of that is done anywhere the hell I like. I’ve been known to read books while walking, usually because I’ve got to the point of no return on the bus, and the walk from the bus stop to my house was too long to stop.

Quote That Inspires/Gives the Feels:

Eh, I’m not so much for quotes. Maybe that one about how reading makes you live a thousand different lives, but those who don’t read live just the one.

Reading Regret:

Fifty Shades of Grey. A blog post on this will follow at some point in the future as part of the 26WBC.

Series You Started and Need to Finish:

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. I read the first one, but then Locke Lamora came along, and well…

Three of Your All Time Favorite Books:

Not going to answer this, and again there will be a proper blog post sometime in the future to explain why.

Unapologetic Fan Girl For:

Nora Roberts.

Very Excited For This Release:

That’ll have to be The Republic of Thieves then, by Scott Lynch.

Worst Bookish Habit:

Folding corners to mark where I am. I only do it with cheap romances though, not with ‘proper’ books.

X Marks the Spot: Start At Top Left and Pick the 27th Book on Your Shelf:

Bookcase 1: Royal Assassin – Robin Hobb. Bookcase 2: Wyrd Sisters – Terry Pratchett. Bookcase 3: Footfall – Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle. Bookcase 4: Had Ik Maar Beter Geluisterd – Marten Toonder. Bookcase 5: Fifth Cadfael Omnibus – Ellis Peters. Bookcase 6: Vrouw Holle (a collection of fairy tales from all over the world, Vrouw Holle being the first in the book).

Your Latest Book Purchase:

Dawning by Olivia Stocum. Romance I came across in the Romancing September theme month. My to-read list still has 17 books on it though…

Zzz-snatcher Book:

I believe the last book I stayed awake to read was one of the later Harry Potter volumes, maybe part six. Other than that I do regularly stay up later than I should just to read, and my husband often finds me fast asleep with my finger stuck between the pages of the book on my pillow.

Leave a Reply

