WIP Update: Tag, I’m It!

Okay, normally I dislike these kind of memes, because I feel they’re the internet equivalent of chain letters, so my gut instinct is to steer away from them. However, in this case I actually quite like both the subject and the questions, and it was passed to me by Kira Lyn Blue, who is awesome. I’ll therefore make an exception and complete it. But I also hereby give permission to the two people I’m tagging (can’t think of a third) to completely ignore it, because I know one of them at least feels the same as I do.

1. What’s the name of your current WIP?

Well, since I’ve just published The Conspiracy, I suppose it’ll have to be book three, currently going under the title of The Coup. Knowing me, that’ll probably also be the final title, since I’m crap at thinking them up. It’s the third and final book in my trilogy.

2. Ready to do a cover reveal?

Hahahaha. Um, no. That said, the cover will match the previous two, and I do have an idea of what I want it to look like. The book is just nowhere even near to being ready for publishing, mostly because I’ve not written it yet.

3. How many words are you into it?

Current word count stands at 3,140. Yep, I’ve barely started.

4. Goal word count by the end of the week?

I don’t use goal word counts. I have never yet hit the dreaded writer’s block (touch wood), and I’ll write it when I write it. Now that book two has been published I need to get into this one, but I’m still in the promotion stage for book one and two, and I have a mind to wait until I’m on holiday, or until I’m back from holiday, which is June/early July.

5. Goal word count for the entire manuscript?

No idea. Absolutely not a clue. As a writer I’m a pantser, so I just keep typing until it feels finished, and then I’ll check how many words that comes to. So far my novels seem to have a tendency to get longer and longer (75k, 125k and 213k respectively), but I have a feeling that The Coup will end up more along the size of The Ritual (that’s the 125k one). That’s nothing more than a gut feeling though, and I could be completely wrong.

6. What genre does your WIP fall within?

Fantasy Romance, just like everything else.

7. When would you like to publish this project?

Well, I’d like to get at least the first draft finished before the end of the year. Whether I’ll do that will depend on how well I can get into this book. I have the general outline in my head, but I’ve not yet started any serious work on it, so right now everything is still up in the air. Assuming that I do get into it I’m sure I’ll fly through it (that’s going on previous experience), but we’ll see how it goes. I’m not going to rush myself just for the sake of it.

8. Go to page five of your manuscript and pick a random sentence to share with us!

…I can’t. Not because I don’t have a page five yet (I do – just), but because it’d give things away that I don’t want to give away. As an alternative I’ll pick a line from The Ritual and The Conspiracy both – how’s that?

For The Ritual: “My subconscious registered the subtleties of a thief’s outfit, but as I steadied myself, muttered an apology and glanced at the face of the man I had bumped into, all my thoughts were washed away. For several moments that felt like an eternity, all I could see were his eyes – the deepest, darkest eyes I had ever seen.”

For The Conspiracy: “Her husband had pursued me for a while, five years ago, and even though I had initially not been interested, she had automatically assumed that the worst had happened. Out of vindictiveness I had decided that since she had already tried and convicted me in her head, I might as well be guilty of the crime.”

9. Will this WIP turn into a series?

It will finish it. At least, at the moment I’m really not planning any more books.

10. What has been the hardest challenge in working on this WIP?

Hard to say at this point in time, since I’m at such an early stage. I’ll need to get into the heads of my main characters, which is hard right now because I’m still in the heads of the mains in The Conspiracy, but so far that has been a conscious choice, since I was still editing that book, so I had to be in their heads.

11. What has been your favourite part of working on this WIP?

I liked writing the prologue, since it needed to do one specific thing without being obvious about it. Can’t say more than that.

12. Any special treat planned for when you finish the final draft of your WIP?

Uh, no, not really. I might take the husband out for a meal, but I never need much of an excuse for that anyway…

13. Tag 3 2 people to complete this WIP meme:

H. Anthe Davis

J.A. Romano

One thought on “WIP Update: Tag, I’m It!

  1. Pingback: Work In Progress Tag Thing | The War of Memory Project

Leave a Reply

